The "Schola Dei" is a 40-km-long pilgrims trail, mostly following a route of pilgrimage. The pilgrims trail is named after its starting point the former Cistercian monastery "Schule Gottes" (1228-1529) - in Ihlow. There are 16 stops to discover along the quiet trails, not to mention picturesque churches and historic sites.
St. Mary's Church is located in Marienhafe, which was the centre of Brookmerland in the Middle Ages. It was constructed in the middle of the 13th century and was the largest triple-naved parish church in East Frisia.
Visitors to the town of Norden can marvel at Ludgeri Church, with the oldest section of the building dating back to the 13th century. Today, it is the largest medieval church in East Frisia and home to the world-famous Schnitger organ. Benedictine and Dominican monasteries were once bastions of the Christian faith here.
Highlights along the route include
There is plenty to explore in the modern monastery: Experience its spiritual element, enjoy the view of East Frisia and relax in the monastery gardens.
St. Mary's Church, Marienhafe:
Built in the middle of the 13th century, it was the largest triple-naved parish church in East Frisia. Its holy organ, dating back to 1710-1713, is renowned.
Werenfridus Church, Osteel:
Built in the 13th century, its baroque pulpit dates back to 1699. The organ (1618) is the oldest instrument preserved in its original condition of the evangelical Lutheran State Church in Hanover.
Battle of the Wild Fields:
On 28 October 1427, a battle took place here between the followers of the chieftain Ocko II. tom Brook and his opponent Focko Ukena.
This monument from various building eras has a unique interior. The Arp Schnitger organ is from the year 1686/1692 and a bell tower dates back to the 13th century.
Built in the 2nd half of the 13th century. Romanesque baptismal font from the 12th/13th century. Renaissance alter from 1652. Baroque pulpit from 1737.
Construction of the Reformed Church in Bargebur was started in 1680. Completed in 1682 following sabotage by Norden's Lutherans.
The church was built in 1250 on a terp (man-made hill). The baptismal font made of bronze was cast in 1796. The chalice, dating back to 1511, is a unique vessel.
Former Dominican monastery:
It is also possible to visit the walls of an old monastery cellar.